17th Annual Top O' the Day Tee-Off

Posted: Sep 17 2021
ND Water Feature - GDCD News

17th Annual Top O' the Day Tee-Off September 2021

By Kimberly Cook

It was a great day to be back on the golf course for the 17th Annual Top O’ the Day Tee-Off on August 9.
CrossRoads Golf Course in Carrington once again honored water giants Russell Dushinske and Warren Jamison through the scramble hosted by the Garrison Diversion Conservancy District (Garrison Diversion) and the North Dakota Water Education Foundation.

Proceeds from the scramble benefit the Dushinske & Jamison Water Resources Scholarship Endowment in memory of the men and their distinguished service, dedicated leadership and lifelong devotion to water development in North Dakota. Four $1,500 scholarships are awarded each year to students attending a North Dakota college or university and whose families have taken an active role in state water resource management.

Thirty-four teams and 136 golfers flooded the 18-hole course at noon – after a much-welcome but poorly timed rain shower in the area – to contend for top finishes and prizes on many of the holes. Generous sponsors filled the course with contests and promotional items.

Golfers wrapped up their day with dinner and an awards ceremony held at the CrossRoads clubhouse, recognizing the first-, third- and 17th-place teams, as well as winners of contests featured at many of the holes. A score of 57 was the tournament best, sending teammates Hayden Schmitz, Jayden Shipman, Seth Nelson and Alex Klever home with first-place prizes.

“It was extra special to get together again after last year’s tourney was cancelled,” Diane Jamison-Richards said. “We are grateful for all those who contribute to this fundraiser so that we can provide scholarships each year to four students. It takes many hands to put together a successful event such as this one. My heartfelt thanks to each and every one who is a  contributor!”

Contests also were held on several holes, providing additional competition for participants! Those winners are:
Shortest Drive (Men) – Dana Johnson, Carrington
Closest to Pin Second Shot – Jeff Van Ray, Pingree
Longest Drive (Women) – Mary Kaye Schneibel, Manvel
Longest Drive (Men) – Tyler Reisenauer, Carrington
Closest to Pin Second Shot – Seth Nelson, Carrington
Shortest Drive (Women) – Lauryn Halvorson, Grace City
Longest Putt – Louis Halvorson, Grace City

A HUGE THANK YOU goes out to the sponsors of this year’s event. These generous sponsors aided in the success of the  scramble, many providing door prizes or games:

Advanced Engineering & Environmental Services
American Insurance proudly becoming Bravera Insurance
American Pipe
Bartlett & West
Bessette Motors
Black & Veatch
Bremer Bank
Dakota Central
Farm Credit Services
First International Bank & Trust
Foster County Independent
KLJ Engineering
Legacy Financial Partners
Moore Engineering
ND Irrigation Association
ND Rural Water Systems Association
Southwest Water Authority
David & Connie Sprynczynatyk
Vogel Law

For more information on the Dushinske & Jamison Water Resources Scholarship, please contact the North Dakota Water Education Foundation at ndwaterusers@btinet.net.